RENNEMOULIN COMMUNAL MONOGRAPH


 

From the canton and 8 kilometers from Marly, Rennemoulin, located on the ru de Gally, is 8 kilometers from Versailles, 2 kilometers from the station of Noisy-le-Roi on the Grande Ceinture railway, 3 kilometers from Villepreux-les-Clayes station on the Granville line. The Pont Cavalier on the Ru de Gally, marks the intersection of the limits of the three communes: Rennemoulin, Noisy-le-Roi, Fontenay le Fleury.

Old Latin designation: Ranae Molendinum (frog mill), 1208.

Rennemoulin has a large flour mill with a fireplace overlooking the village.

In 1202, two owners had declared that they wanted to pay the costs of a chapel in Rennemoulin provided that the chapel was served by a religious of the Order of the Trinity. The bishop of Paris authorized, but in such a case the church henceforth imposed conditions intended to ward off the abuses which custom had established in favor of the founders and which made them, who were called patrons of the church , true owners of churches, whose rights were passed on to their descendants. In this case, the bishop inserted in the charter of foundation a clause reserving for him the right to appoint as to dismiss the minister, with the indication of the revenues allocated to the church.

Until the beginning of the 19th century, Rennemoulin had a church, apparently from the 13th century, dedicated to Saint-Nicolas. Before the Revolution the cure was a priory dependent on the Abbey of Hermières. The minister attended the presentation of the Abbé d'Hermières, taken from among the religious of his order. The Hermières abbey, of the Prémontre order, was located in the commune of Fouvières, in the current arrondissement of Meulan.

The parish having been removed and reunited with that of Villepreux, the church became barn, stable, attic.

On the bell, transferred to the church of Villepreux, we read the following inscription: “In the month of May 1690, I was melted down by the care of Brother Jean François Raymbert prior and parish priest of Rennemoulin and named Marie by Messire Pierre Raims priest and canon of the holy royal chapel of Vincennes and by Dame Leroy wife of Messire Philippe Lemoyne lord of said Rennemoulin, former adviser to the king and notary at the Châtelet in Paris, Louis Carlut, churchwarden. I was made by Guilles Lemoine, founder for the king. "

Jean François Raimbert, religious of Hermières, bachelor in theology, who was prior-pastor of Rennemoulin when this bell was installed, was elected in 1712 Abbot of Sainte-Marie d'Abbécourt in Orgeval, whose buildings he built.

In 1230, Marie de Rennemoulin widow of Jean Paolé gave the monks of Joyenval ten sous of income on her property in Noisy “in consu meo apud Nosiacum junta Marli. »And to the Abbey of Notre-Dame de la Roche (A Lévy-Saint-Nom) an income of 20 sous parisis on a house located in Poissy.

May 1541, following deed received by Mr. Yves Bourgeois, notary at Châtelet, Antoine du Hautbois, priest, lord of Rennemoulin, priory of Saint-Martin de Vertot near Châtillon sur Indre, ordinarily residing in Rennemoulin in Val de Gally, agrees lease from his priory to Bault Boutet, priest, residing in Saint-Martin en Vertot, for 120 livres tournois per year. (Coyecque)


 

In February 1580, at the assembly of the three orders of the provost and viscount of Paris for the reformation of the custom of Paris, appeared Anthoine du Vivier, squire, lord of Resnemoulin, secretary of François comte d'Alençon brother of the king.

In the minutes of the same assembly appears "the peasants and inhabitants of Resnemoulin

- au - Val de Gallie, represented by Master Jean l'Abbé, controller of sizes in the election of Gisors. "

Under Louis XIV, the village was included in the large park of Versailles.

Thanks to an intelligent priest who had a taste for archives, the commune of Rennemoulin possesses, for the period preceding and immediately following the Revolution, complete and very well-kept municipal registers. These authentic documents have been carefully analyzed and summarized by ME Tambour in an interesting volume: Les registers municipaux de Rennemoulin (1903).

In the 18th century, the state of vicinality remained deplorable. In 1788, Mr. Sené, parish priest of Rennemoulin, sent, on behalf of the municipal body of his parish, a memorandum to the intermediary office of Saint-Germain-en-Laye: "The village of Rennemoulin is cut in a straight line by a road. very narrow, very rough and uneven parish, consequently very dangerous for cars and walking people. And as it is impossible to get out of this gorge (where Rennemoulin is constricted) only by one side of this path, it must necessarily become worse day by day through the holes and ruts, already so dangerous. that in the very heart of summer one only escapes with double the number of horses. As a misfortune verified very recently, an inhabitant leaving for the halle de Paris with a carriage with nine horses to cross a bad step in this way saw his helmsman perish by a too harsh shock which burst him. In addition in this long lane, there are passages so narrow and raised in borders so narrow and so straight, that the valet at the slightest jolt are liable to be run over. In winter, this crossing is impracticable even on foot. »On April 13, 1788, the intermediary office of St Germain replied that, given the smallness of the funds at its disposal, also given the length of the road, the provincial assembly could not take care of it: the parish had to provide a voluntary constitution.

In 1788, the lands of the commune of Rennemoulin were distributed as follows:

I ent Taxable land: gardens, 8 arpents 88 perches; - plowing, 260 arpents 20 perches, - near, 13 arpents, - pasture, 2 arpents 22 perches, - wood 203 arpents 12 perches.

II ent Non-taxable land, belonging to the king, plowing 8 arpents 88 perches, - wood, 150 perches.


 

The mill of Rennemoulin was rented by the civil list 820 pounds per year to François Robine.

On July 13, 1788, a furious storm devastated the region.

The trustee and the members of the municipality of Rennemoulin wrote to the members of the Intermediate Bureau of St Germain en Laye that the harvest, wheat, meslin, rye, barley, which was very beautiful, is lying, chopped, pressed against the ground and intermingled, and partially shelled. The beans which would have given at least five setiers the arpent will not give half. The chènevières suffer three quarters of loss. The pos and vetches are totally lost.

On September 15, 1788, the municipal assembly of Rennemoulin, with a view to receiving relief, decides that the arpent of wheat will be valued at 80 pounds of loss, the arpent of rye at 30 pounds ... The total valuation rises for the inhabitants of the parish at 14,890 pounds including 10,900 pounds for Jérôme Sénéchal, farmer to the king, and 2,630 pounds for Robine meunier, more for horsains 1,455 pounds.

On the other hand Jérôme Sénéchal, farmer of a royal farm in Rennemoulin, benefited from the king's share of a discount of 3000 pounds on his rents.

We have seen that in 1580, the parish of Rennemoulin had been represented at the assembly of the provost and viscount of Paris. Since that time, in the seventeenth century, Versailles had been set up as a bailiwick and formed one of the secondary bailiwicks belonging to the provost and viscounty of Paris. During the elections to the Estates General of 1789, it was at the preliminary assembly of the Bailiwick of Versailles that the inhabitants of the parish of Rennemoulin were represented. However, while its representatives thus attended the assembly of the Bailiwick of Versailles, default was pronounced against the parish at the preliminary assembly of the Provost and Viscount of Paris outside the Walls. On April 12, 1789, the electors of the parish of Rennemoulin elected as their deputies to the said assembly of Versailles: Jérôme Sénéchal, farmer of the Rennemoulin state farm, and Pierre Salles.

In the order of the clergy, at the assembly of the provost and viscount of Paris outside the Walls, attended Mr. Sené, prior parish priest of Rennemoulin.

Rémi Sené, born in Reims in 1731, Premonstratensian religious, priest of Rennemoulin since 1785, secretary of the municipality, took the oath to the civil constitution of the clergy, abjured in Nivôse Year II, left the town in 1796 to retire to Favières (Seine et Marne) and died in 1807.

The notebook of grievances of the parish of Rennemoulin characterizes the state of mind of the rural populations on the eve of 1789. They are not concerned with philosophical principles or political rights; absorbed as they are by material needs which the economic situation makes it difficult to provide, they could not be touched by the speculations of the great thinkers who, following in particular Jean Jacques Rousseau, are preparing a renovation of society: their only concern is to avoid painful burdens. Those of Rennemoulin especially have to complain about the game which abounds in the royal park, the daily and arbitrary annoyances to which they are exposed from arrogant gamekeepers, the damage caused by the pigeons of the loft ...

"Rigorous and vexatious is the inquisition which the arbitrary regime of officers and game wardens continually exercises against the inhabitants, from which regime it follows that at no time are the aforesaid inhabitants really sure of the liberty of their persons and of the free use of their properties. Indeed, everyone knows that the hatred of a simple guard directed against such and such can be enough to lead to prison the support of an entire family, and that the farmers can neither shape nor sow their land, nor harvest their grains or fodder. without depending on the inspection of hunting officers, who do not always use it in moderation. "

“… That an examination be ordered of the game sheds which cover the territories of Rennemoulin and Villepreux, as well as the damage caused by the multitude of said sheds. "

When the National Assembly prescribed the sale of ecclesiastical goods, the very natural and very human desire to own one's land rabbit, to enlarge one's field, appeared among our rural populations. They even covet a part of the royal domain, which would be much more useful in the hands of the cultivators.

The Revolution was well received because on the other hand it suppressed the tithe and the feudal rights.

The work of MM. Defrène et Evrard Les subsistances dans le district de Versailles is full of information on the measures to which the various authorities had to resort to obviate the serious economic difficulties which troubled the first years of the Revolution in the jurisdiction of the district of Versailles which included the town of Rennemoulin .

In 1791, to an inquiry ordered by the administrators of the said district, the municipality of Rennemoulin replied that the grains that its land produced best were rye, barley and oats. Wheat only sees in the second line.

On March 3, 1793, the municipalities around Versailles included in the areas of the civil list ask the Convention that the lands and woods abandoned to the pleasures of the former kings for hunting be shared to be placed in arable land, that they are auctioned by arpent in favor of the day laborers who will bring ears of wheat there instead of feeding rabbits. On March 7, 1793, Coutures, manager of the estates of Versailles and Marly, proposed to the Convention that the uncultivated lands of these estates be distributed. The inhabitants of Rennemoulin did not wait for the decisions to be made on these proposals: they seized uncultivated land forming part of the property of the crown and began to clear it.

On September 21, 1793, the general council of the department of Seine and Oise requires Seneschal farmer in Rennemoulin to provide 30 sets of wheat within eight days to the subsistence store of Versailles.

In September 1793, the municipality of Rennemoulin denounced to the Directory of the Department the incursions made by citizens of neighboring municipalities among the farmers of Rennemoulin and in particular at Sénéchal, who supplied the Versailles market: if these farmers are not protected, we will see their barn empty before two months.

On 9 Nivôse Year II, December 29, 1793, on the complaint of the municipality of Rennemoulin, against Pierray, inhabitant of this municipality which openly transgresses the laws, having sold the oats of his harvest without acquittal of deposit and left to lose by negligence 600 bunches of alfalfa, the directorate of the district of Versailles invites this municipality to vigorously enforce the decrees relating to subsistence and to maintain the respect due to the authorities.

On 6 Pluviôse Year II, February 4, 1794, the inhabitants of Rennemoulin assured the District that they had supplied the Versailles market and provided all the requisitions requested, but they were on the verge of running out of wheat. They ask that we reserve for them what is in the barns of the farmer Seneschal and the miller Robine.

On 24 Ventôse Year III, March 14, 1795, the commune of Rennemoulin decided to join the communes of the canton of Marly to petition the Convention and obtain subsistence.

On 30 Germinal Year III, April 19, 1795, the municipality of Rennemoulin distributed at cost price, 52 cents a pound, the rice it received from Marly on the 15 current, i.e. 21 pounds of rice out of the 18 quintals granted to the canton of Marly.

The Committee of Public Safety having prescribed, on 4 Germinal Year III, March 24, 1795, a census with a view to the requisition of a fifth of the grains, flour and pulses for the subsistence of Paris and the armies, the census commissioners in Rennemoulin let know on 10 Floréal Year III, April 29, 1795, that they found only 30 sets of grains, wheat, rye and barley, which may be enough for two months at most. They do not speak of flour, for the difficulty of obtaining it is so great that one only grinds a bushel or two at a time, or at most a mine of granules of granules (granules: waste seeds that poultry are fed.)

On 30 Prairial Year III, June 18, 1795, in execution of the order of the Public Safety Committee of 24 Floréal, a report was drawn up of the harvests. State of the land sown at Rennemoulin: Wheat, 107 arpents 70 perches, rye, 18 arpents 95 perches, meslin 7 arpents 56 perches, barley 16 arpents 39 perches, oats 103 arpents, clover, 75 perches, alfalfa, 16 arpents 33 perches, wood , 30 arpents.

“The harshness of the winter, prolonged beyond the ordinary time for sap, destroyed part of a species of winter wheat called in this canton red wheat which yields much more than wheat. "

March grains and forages have suffered greatly from the drought and cold of spring. Heavy rain has been covering the best of the harvests for two days. However, we hope that the grains will be able to recover in part.

It was the time when the Thermidorian reaction destroyed the last mountain people, the victims of the prairial.

On 24 Brumaire Year IV, November 15, 1795, the first month of the directorial government, the prosecutor syndic of Versailles warns the municipality of Rennemoulin that in execution of the requisition of the Department the municipality must provide 342 pounds of hay and 4583 pounds of straw.

The population of Rennemoulin, which had never reached one hundred inhabitants, has just exceeded this figure in the last census.

In the enumeration of the Paris election of 1709, Rennemoulin counted 16 fires; to that of 1745, 18 fires.

Population in 1866… 60 inhabitants

1926… 90 inhabitants

1931… 116 inhabitants

Source: the departmental archives of Yvelines, document number: J 3211/18 [8], Communal monograph written by Paul Aubert, transcription Mathieu Thédié

MONOGRAPHIE COMMUNALE DE RENNEMOULIN


 

Du canton et à 8 kilomètres de Marly, Rennemoulin, situé sur le ru de Gally, est à 8 kilomètres de Versailles, à 2 kilomètres de la station de Noisy-le-Roi sur le chemin de fer de Grande Ceinture, à 3 kilomètres de la station de Villepreux-les-Clayes sur la ligne de Granville. Le Pont Cavalier sur le ru de Gally, marque l’intersection des limites des trois communes : Rennemoulin, Noisy-le-Roi, Fontenay le Fleury.

Ancienne désignation latine : Ranae Molendinum (moulin de la grenouille), 1208.

Rennemoulin possède une grande minoterie dont la cheminée domine le village.

En 1202, deux propriétaires avaient déclaré vouloir faire les frais d’une chapellenie à Rennemoulin pourvu que la chapelle fut desservie par un religieux de l’ordre de la Trinité. L’évêque de Paris autorisa, mais en pareil cas l’église désormais imposait des conditions destinées à parer aux abus que l’usage avait établis en faveur des fondateurs et qui faisaient de ceux-ci, qu’on appelait patrons de l’église, de véritables propriétaires des églises, dont les droits se transmettaient à leurs descendants. En l’espèce, l’évêque inséra dans la charte de fondation une clause lui réservant le droit de nommer comme de révoquer le desservant, avec l’indication des revenus affectés à l’église.

Jusqu’au début du 19e siècle, Rennemoulin eut une église, paraissant du 13e siècle, dédiée à Saint-Nicolas. Avant la Révolution la cure était un prieuré dépendant de l’abbaye d’Hermières. Le desservant était à la présentation de l’abbé d’Hermières, pris parmi les religieux de son ordre. L’abbaye d’Hermières, de l’ordre des Prémontre était située commune de Fouvières, dans l’actuel arrondissement de Meulan.

La paroisse ayant été supprimée et réunie à celle de Villepreux, l’église est devenue grange étable, grenier.

Sur la cloche, transférée à l’église de Villepreux, on lit l’inscription suivante : « Au mois de may 1690, j’ai été fondue par les soins de frère Jean François Raymbert prieur et curé de Rennemoulin et nommée Marie par messire Pierre Raims prêtre et chanoine de la sainte chapelle royale de Vincennes et par dame Leroy épouse de messire Philippe Lemoyne seigneur dudit Rennemoulin, ancien conseiller du roi et notaire au Châtelet de Paris, Louis Carlut, marguillier. J’ai été faite par Guilles Lemoine, fondeur pour le roi. »

Jean François Raimbert, religieux d’Hermières, bachelier en théologie, qui était prieur-curé de Rennemoulin lors de l’installation de cette cloche, dut élue en 1712 abbé de Sainte-Marie d’Abbécourt à Orgeval, dont il construisit les bâtiments.

En 1230, Marie de Rennemoulin veuve de Jean Paolé donne aux moines de Joyenval dix sous de revenu sur ses biens de Noisy « in consu meo apud Nosiacum junta Marli. » et à l’abbaye de Notre-Dame de la Roche (A Lévy-Saint-Nom) une rente de 20 sous parisis sur une maison sise à Poissy.

Mai 1541, suivant acte reçu par M. Yves Bourgeois, notaire au Châtelet, Antoine du Hautbois, prêtre, seigneur de Rennemoulin, prieuré de Saint-Martin de Vertot près de Châtillon sur Indre, demeurant ordinairement à Rennemoulin au Val de Gally, consent bail de son prieuré à Bault Boutet, prêtre, demeurant à Saint-Martin en Vertot, moyennant 120 livres tournois par an. (Coyecque)


 

En février 1580, à l’assemblée des trois ordres de la prévôté et vicomté de Paris pour la réformation de la coutume de Paris, comparut Anthoine du Vivier, écuyer, seigneur de Resnemoulin, secrétaire de François comte d’Alençon frère du roi.

Au procès-verbal de la même assemblée figure « les manants et habitants de Resnemoulin

– au – Val de Gallie, représentés par maître Jean l’Abbé contrôleur des tailles en l’élection de Gisors. »

Sous Louis XIV, le village fut inclus dans le grand parc de Versailles.

Grâce à un curé intelligent qui avait le goût des archives, la commune de Rennemoulin possède, pour la période qui a précédé et suivi immédiatement la Révolution, des registres municipaux complets et fort bien tenus. Ces documents authentiques ont été soigneusement analysés et résumés par M. E. Tambour dans un intéressant volume : Les registres municipaux de Rennemoulin (1903).

Au 18e siècle, l’état de la vicinalité restait déplorable. En 1788, M. Sené, curé de Rennemoulin, adresse, au nom du corps municipal de sa paroisse, un mémoire au bureau intermédiaire de Saint-Germain-en-Laye : « Le village de Rennemoulin est coupé en ligne droite par un chemin de paroisse très étroit, très rude et inégal, conséquemment très dangereux pour les voitures et les personnes de pied. Et comme il est impossible de sortir de cette gorge (où est resserré Rennemoulin) que par l’un des côtés de ce chemin, il faut nécessairement qu’il devienne plus mauvais de jour en jour par les trous et les ornières, déjà si dangereux que dans le cœur même de l’été on n’en échappe qu’avec le double de chevaux. Comme un malheur l’a vérifié tout récemment, un habitant partant pour la halle de Paris avec une voiture à neuf chevaux pour franchir un mauvais pas dans ce chemin a vu périr son timonier par une secousse trop rude qui le creva. De plus dans cette longue ruelle, il se trouve des passages si resserrés et relevés en bordures si étroites et si droites, que les voituriers au moindre cahot sont exposés à être écrasés. Dans l’hiver, cette traversée est impraticable même à pied. » Le 13 avril 1788, le bureau intermédiaire de St Germain répondit que, vu la modicité des fonds dont il pouvait disposer, vu aussi la longueur du chemin, l’assemblée provinciale ne pouvait s’en occuper : il fallait que la paroisse fournit une constitution volontaire.

En 1788, les terres de la commune de Rennemoulin se répartissaient ainsi :

I ent Terres imposables : jardins, 8 arpents 88 perches ; - labours, 260 arpents 20 perches, - près, 13 arpents, - pâture, 2 arpents 22 perches, - bois 203 arpents 12 perches.

II ent Terres non imposables, appartenant au roi, labours 8 arpents 88 perches, - bois, 150 perches.


 

Le moulin de Rennemoulin était loué par la liste civile 820 livres par an à François Robine.

Le 13 juillet 1788, un orage furieux dévasta la région.

Le syndic et les membres de la municipalité de Rennemoulin écrivirent aux membres du Bureau intermédiaire de St Germain en Laye que la récolte, blé, méteil, seigle, orge, qui était très-belle, est couchée, hachée, pressée contre terre et entremêlée, et égrenée en partie. Les féverolles qui auraient donné au moins cinq setiers l’arpent n’en donneront pas moitié. Les chènevières subissent trois quarts de perte. Les pos et vesces sont totalement perdus.

Le 15 septembre 1788, l’assemblée municipale de Rennemoulin, en vue des secours à recevoir, arrête que l’arpent de blé sera évalué à 80 livres de perte, l’arpent de seigle à 30 livres… L’évaluation totale monte pour les habitants de la paroisse à 14 890 livres dont 10 900 livres pour Jérôme Sénéchal fermier du roi, et 2630 livres pour Robine meunier, plus pour les horsains 1455 livres.

D’autre part Jérôme Sénéchal, fermier d’une ferme royale à Rennemoulin, bénéficiait de la part du roi d’une remise de 3000 livres sur ses fermages.

Nous avons vu qu’en 1580, la paroisse de Rennemoulin avait été représentée à l’assemblée de la prévôté et vicomté de Paris. Depuis cette époque, au dix-septième siècle, Versailles avait été érigé en bailliage et formait l’un des bailliages secondaires ressortissant à la prévôté et vicomté de Paris. Lors des élections aux Etats Généraux de 1789, c’est à l’assemblée préliminaire du bailliage de Versailles que les habitants de la paroisse de Rennemoulin se firent représenter. Toutefois pendant que ses représentants assistaient ainsi à l’assemblée du bailliage de Versailles, défaut était prononcé contre la paroisse à l’assemblée préliminaire de la prévôté et vicomté de Paris hors les Murs. Le 12 avril 1789, les électeurs de la paroisse de Rennemoulin élurent pour leurs députés à ladite assemblée de Versailles : Jérôme Sénéchal, fermier de la ferme domaniale de Rennemoulin, et Pierre Salles.

Dans l’ordre du clergé, à l’assemblée de la prévôté et vicomté de Paris hors les Murs, assista M. Sené, prieur curé de Rennemoulin.

Rémi Sené, né à Reims en 1731, religieux prémontré, curé de Rennemoulin depuis 1785, secrétaire de la municipalité, prêta serment à la constitution civile du clergé, abjura en nivôse an II, quitta la commune en 1796 pour se retirer à Favières (Seine et Marne) et mourut en 1807.

Le cahier de doléances de la paroisse de Rennemoulin caractérise l’état d’esprit des populations rurales à la veille de 1789. Ils ne se préoccupent pas de principes philosophiques ni de droits politiques ; absorbés comme ils sont par des besoins matériels auxquels la situation économique rend difficile de pourvoir, ils n’ont pu être touchés par les spéculations des grands penseurs qui, à la suite notamment de Jean Jacques Rousseau, préparent une rénovation de la société : leur unique souci, c’est de se soustraire à des charges pénibles. Ceux de Rennemoulin ont surtout à se plaindre du gibier qui foisonne dans le parc royal, des vexations quotidiennes et arbitraires auxquelles ils sont exposés de la part de gardes-chasse arrogants, des dommages causés par les pigeons du colombier…

« Rigoureuse et vexatoire est l’inquisition qu’exerce continuellement le régime arbitraire des officiers et gardes-chasse contre les habitants, duquel régime il s’ensuit que dans aucun temps les susdits habitants ne sont réellement sûrs de la liberté de leurs personnes et du libre usage de leurs propriétés. En effet tout le monde sait que la haine d’un simple garde dirigée contre tel ou tel peut suffire pour conduire en prison le soutien de toute une famille, et que les cultivateurs ne peuvent façonner ni ensemencer leurs terres, ni récolter leurs grains ou fourrages sans dépendre de l’inspection des officiers de chasse, lesquels n’en usent pas toujours avec modération. »

« … que soit ordonné un examen des remises à gibier qui couvrent ainsi dire les territoires de Rennemoulin et de Villepreux, ainsi que du dommage occasionné par la multitude desdites remises. »

Lorsque l’assemblée nationale prescrivit la mise en vente des biens ecclésiastiques, le désir bien naturel et bien humain de posséder son lapin de terre, d’agrandir son champ, apparait chez nos populations rurales. On convoite même une part du domaine royal, qui serait bien plus utile entre les mains des cultivateurs.

La Révolution fut bien accueillie parce que d’autre part elle supprima la dîme et les droits féodaux.

L’ouvrage de MM. Defrène et Evrard Les subsistances dans le district de Versailles est plein de renseignements sur les mesures auxquelles durent recourir les différentes autorités pour obvier aux graves difficultés économiques qui troublèrent les premières années de la Révolution dans le ressort du district de Versailles qui comprenait la commune de Rennemoulin.

En 1791, à une enquête prescrite par les administrateurs dudit district, la municipalité de Rennemoulin répond que les grains que ses terres produisent le mieux sont le seigle, l’orge et l’avoine. Le froment ne voit qu’en seconde ligne.

Le 3 mars 1793, les communes des environs de Versailles comprises dans les domaines de la liste civile demandent à la Convention que les terres et bois abandonnés aux plaisirs des ci-devant rois pour la chasse soient partagés pour être mis en terres labourables, qu’ils soient mis aux enchères par arpent en faveur des journaliers qui y feront venir des épis de blé au lieu de nourrir des lapins. Le 7 mars 1793, Coutures, régisseur des domaines de Versailles et de Marly, propose à la Convention que les terres incultes de ces domaines soient distribuées. Les habitants de Rennemoulin n’attendirent pas les décisions à intervenir sur ces propositions : ils s’emparèrent des terres non cultivées faisant partie des biens de la couronne et en entreprirent le défrichement.

Le 21 septembre 1793, le conseil général du département de Seine et Oise requiert sénéchal fermier à Rennemoulin de fournis sous huit jours 30 setiers de blé au magasin des subsistances de Versailles.

En septembre 1793, la municipalité de Rennemoulin dénonce au directoire du Département les incursions commises par des citoyens des communes voisines chez les fermiers de Rennemoulin et en particulier chez Sénéchal, qui fournissent le marché de Versailles : si ces fermiers ne sont protégés, on verra leur grange vide avant deux mois.

Le 9 nivôse an II, 29 décembre 1793, sur la plainte de la municipalité de Rennemoulin, contre Pierray, habitant de cette commune qui transgresse ouvertement les lois, ayant vendu l’avoine de sa récolte sans acquit à caution et laissé perdre par négligence 600 bottes de luzerne, le directoire du district de Versailles invite cette municipalité à faire exécuter énergiquement les décrets relatifs aux subsistances et à maintenir le respect dû aux autorités.

Le 6 pluviôse an II, 4 février 1794, les habitants de Rennemoulin assurent au District qu’ils ont approvisionné le marché de Versailles et fourni toutes les réquisitions demandées, mais ils sont en veille de manquer de blé. Ils demandent qu’on leur réserve ce qui se trouve dans les granges du fermier sénéchal et du meunier Robine.

Le 24 ventôse an III, 14 mars 1795, la commune de Rennemoulin décide de se joindre aux communes du canton de Marly pour adresser une pétition à la Convention et vue d’obtenir des subsistances.

Le 30 germinal an III, 19 avril 1795, la municipalité de Rennemoulin distribue au prix coûtant, 52 sous la livre, le riz qu’elle a reçu de Marly le 15 courant, soit 21 livres de riz sur les 18 quintaux accordés au canton de Marly.

Le comité de Salut Public ayant prescrit, le 4 germinal an III, 24 mars 1795, un recensement en vue de la réquisition d’un cinquième des grains, farines et légumes secs pour la subsistance de Paris et des armées, les commissaires au recensement à Rennemoulin font savoir le 10 floréal an III, 29 avril 1795, qu’ils n’ont trouvé que 30 setiers de grains, blé, seigle et orge, ce qui peut suffire au plus pour deux mois. Ils ne parlent point de farine, car la difficulté de s’en procurer est si grande qu’on ne fait moudre à la fois qu’un boisseau ou deux, ou au plus une mine de grains de grenailles (grenailles : graines de rebut que l’on donne en pâture à la volaille.)

Le 30 prairial an III, 18 juin 1795, en exécution de l’arrêté du comité de Salut Public du 24 floréal, un bilan est dressé des récoltes. Etat des terres ensemencées à Rennemoulin : Blé, 107 arpents 70 perches, seigle, 18 arpents 95 perches, méteil 7 arpents 56 perches, orge 16 arpents 39 perches, avoine 103 arpents, trèfle, 75 perches, luzerne, 16 arpents 33 perches, bois, 30 arpents.

« La rigueur de l’hiver prolongé jusqu’au-delà du temps ordinaire pour la sève, a fait périr une partie d’une espèce de blé d’hiver appelée dans ce canton blé rouge qui rend beaucoup plus que le blé. »

Les grains de mars et les fourrages ont beaucoup souffert de la sécheresse et du froid de printemps. Une forte pluie couche depuis deux jours le meilleur des moissons. On espère pourtant que les grains pourront se relever en partie.

C’était l’époque où la réaction thermidorienne faisait périr les derniers montagnards, les victimes de prairial.

Le 24 brumaire an IV, 15 novembre 1795, premier mois du gouvernement directorial, le procureur syndic de Versailles avertit la municipalité de Rennemoulin qu’en exécution de la réquisition du Département la commune doit fournir 342 livres de foin et 4583 livres de paille.

La population de Rennemoulin qui n’avait jamais atteint cent habitants, vient de dépasser ce chiffre au dernier recensement.

Au dénombrement de l’élection de Paris de 1709, Rennemoulin comptait 16 feux ; à celui de 1745, 18 feux.

Population en 1866… 60 habitants

1926… 90 habitants

1931… 116 habitants

Source: les archives départementales des Yvelines, cote du document: J 3211/18 [8], Monographie communale écrite par Paul Aubert, transcription Mathieu Thédié