COMMUNAL MONOGRAPH OF LOGES-EN-JOSAS

 

I - Geographic part

      The Municipality of Loges en Josas, department of Seine-et-Oise, arrondissement of Versailles, South Canton is located 6km from the SSE of Versailles. It is limited to the north and north-west by the Municipality of Buc, to the south by those of Toussus le Noble and Jouy-en-Josas, to the east and north-east by Jouy-en-Josas. The population of 385 inhabitants is spread over a territorial area of 248 hectares. Altitude around 100m. The clay soil on the upper part is peaty in the Bièvre valley. Dry climate. Located on the right bank of the Brièvre, part in the plateau part in the valley. The Municipality is crisscrossed by 17,800m of public roads, local roads, rural paths and recognized paths and served by the Grande Ceinture railway (Hall of Petit Jouy les Loges). The fauna and flora are those of the department and offer no particularity.

      Except the wood of Garenne belonging to the State, the territory is fragmented, used by large-scale cultivation: cereals and fodder crops for the maintenance of dairy cows. The animals of the bovine breed (100 cows on average) and of the horse breed (60 engaged in agricultural work) come from outside. Few poultry and little game. Pests include badgers, weasels, martens, crows and magpies. As reptiles, the common snake and the grass snake.

      The basement contains millstone for construction and concrete for roads. The industry is represented only by a few laundries. Trade, for the sale of milk, especially in Versailles, for an annual and average sum of 60,000f.

 

II - Historical sketch

 

      The Municipality of Loges en Josas does not have any historical monument. Its existence does not seem to be known until 1201. On this date, a charter of Eudes of Sully bishop of Paris, notes that Guy de Lévis gives, in his tenth of the Lodges, two muids of bled to the brothers of the Abbey of La Rock. Later one finds among the goods dependent on the Knights of St Jean de Lahan of Paris, the farm of the Hospital of the Lodges. Nothing remains of the old construction; the current farm is of recent construction. In 1675, the Châtellenie des Loges was incorporated into the duchy of Chevreuse, the king's moving stronghold. Around 1686, during the construction of the Buc aqueduct, an underground aqueduct was dug at Loges en Josas to collect the underground water from the plateau. The few remaining parts serve as cisterns. The church, without style, dates from the 17th century. The Town Hall, which also contains the School and the Post Office was purchased and fitted out for the Municipality in 1867. Given its small importance, the Municipality does not have any provident or charitable institution. The situation, on a plateau devoid of water, does not promise any commercial or industrial development. Since 1831 the population has only increased by 40 inhabitants. The war of 1870-1871, during the German occupation, from September 20, 1870 to February 5, 1871, caused the Commune, in requisitions, and looting of abandoned houses, losses estimated at 137,914 f.

 

III - Public education

 

The Municipality of Loges-en-Josas has a mixed school, originally installed on the Place de l'Eglise, in a room lit by a single window, on the ground of beaten clay; around 1838 the School was transferred to the Duprey house, comprising a classroom and a master bedroom. In 1867 the School was installed in the current premises, improved in 1894 for the construction of a courtyard and the enlargement of the playground. It still has old furniture (six-seater tables).

 

Teachers: The oldest Teacher: Lhomme Christophe appears on the municipal registers for the first time on January 10, 1816 (he was previously a state pensioner.)

Then come:

MM.  Caplain Louis 1834-1835

      Naze 1835 to 1836

      Christophe 1836 to 1838

      Perdreau 1838 to May 4, 1848

      Blondeau May 4, 1848 to October 23, 1860

      Salvé October 23 to December 21, 1860

      Seinwirth December 21, 1860 to October 25, 1862

      Bretonnet October 25, 1862 to November 25, 1863

      Lenoir November 25, 1863 to December 24, 1864

      Thillay December 24, 1864 to May 23, 1870

      Guibert May 23, 1870 to September 20, 1890

      Forester September 20, 1890 to April 10, 1893

      Mallondot of April 10, 1893

 

School population at various times: 1850, 27 students; 1858; 32, 1865, 36 students; 1873, 26 students, 1899, 36 students.

Until 1890 the Teacher was cantor, organist, clock maker.

Current state: the mixed school, with only one class, has an average of 40 pupils divided into 3 courses: preparatory, elementary and middle, obtaining the certificate of primary studies, elementary. The current classroom, well lit, is equipped with old equipment, lack of water. The Adult Course is followed regularly by young people (boys only) from the Municipality; the teaching is given there especially from the agricultural point of view. The fairly well-composed school library, in the process of prosperity, helps the work of the School.

 

Source: departmental archives, municipal monograph of Loges-en-Josas, 1899, document number: 1T / MONO 7 [22], Mathieu Thédié transcription

MONOGRAPHIE COMMUNALE DES LOGES-EN-JOSAS

 

I – Partie géographique

          La Commune des Loges en Josas, département de Seine-et-Oise, arrondissement de Versailles, Canton Sud est située à 6km au S.S.E de Versailles. Elle est limitée au nord et au nord-ouest par la Commune de Buc, au Sud par celles de Toussus le Noble et de Jouy-en-Josas, à l’Est et au nord-Est par Jouy-en-Josas. La population, de 385 habitants est répartie sur une superficie territoriale de 248 hectares. Altitude 100m environ. Le sol argileux sur la partie haute, est tourbeux dans la vallée de la Bièvre. Climat sec. Située sur la rive droite de la Brièvre, partie en plateau partie en vallée. La Commune est sillonnée par 17 800m de chemins de grande communication, chemins vicinaux, chemins ruraux et sentes reconnus et desservie par le chemin de fer de Grande Ceinture (halle de Petit Jouy les Loges). La faune et la flore sont celles du département et n’offrent aucune particularité.

          Sauf le bois de la Garenne appartenant à l’Etat, le territoire est morcelé, employé par la grande culture : céréales et cultures fourragères pour l’entretien des vaches laitières. Les animaux de la race bovine (100 vaches en moyenne) et de la race chevaline (60 occupés aux travaux agricoles) proviennent du dehors. Peu de volailles et peu de gibier. Les animaux nuisibles comprennent les blaireaux, mulots belettes, fouines, corbeaux et pies. Comme reptiles, la couleuvre commune et la couleuvre à collier.

          Le sous-sol renferme de la pierre meulière pour construction et du béton pour routes. L’industrie est représentée seulement par quelques blanchisseries. Le commerce, pour la vente du lait, surtout à Versailles, pour une somme annuelle et moyenne de 60 000f.

 

II – Esquisse historique

 

          La Commune des Loges en Josas ne possède aucun monument historique. Son existence ne paraît être connue que depuis 1201. A cette date, une charte d’Eudes de Sully évêque de Paris, constate que Guy de Lévis donne, dans sa dixme des Loges, deux muids de bled aux frères de l’Abbaye de La Roche. Plus tard on retrouve parmi les biens dépendant des Chevaliers de St Jean de Lahan de Paris, la ferme de l’Hôpital des Loges. Il ne reste rien de l’ancienne construction ; la ferme actuelle est de construction récente. En 1675, la Châtellenie des Loges fut incorporée au duché de Chevreuse, fief mouvant du roi. Vers 1686, lors de la construction de l’aqueduc de Buc, il a été creusé aux Loges en Josas un aqueduc souterrain destiné à recueillir les eaux souterraines du plateau. Les quelques parties encore existantes servent de citernes. L’église, sans style, date du 17e siècle. La Mairie, qui renferme en outre l’Ecole et le Bureau de poste a été achetée et aménagée pour la Commune en 1867. Vu son peu d’importance, la Commune ne possède aucune institution de prévoyance, ni de bienfaisance. La situation, sur un plateau dépourvu d’eau, ne promet aucun développement commercial ou industriel. Depuis 1831 la population n’a augmenté que de 40 habitants. La guerre de 1870-1871, pendant l’occupation allemande, du 20 septembre 1870 au 5 février 1871, a causé à la Commune, en réquisitions, et pillage de maisons abandonnées, des pertes évaluées à 137 914 f.

 

III – Instruction publique

 

La Commune des Loges-en-Josas a une école mixte, primitivement installée, place de l’Eglise, dans une pièce éclairée d’une seule fenêtre, au sol de terre glaise battue ; vers 1838 l’Ecole est transférée dans la maison Duprey, comprenant une salle de classe et une chambre pour le maître. En 1867 l’Ecole est installée dans le local actuel, amélioré en 1894 pour la construction d’un préau et l’agrandissement de la cour de récréation. Elle a encore un mobilier ancien (tables à six places).

 

Instituteurs : Le plus ancien Instituteur : Lhomme Christophe figure sur les registres communaux pour la première fois le 10 janvier 1816 (il était auparavant pensionné de l’Etat.)

Ensuite viennent :

MM.   Caplain Louis 1834-1835

          Naze 1835 à 1836

          Christophe 1836 à 1838

          Perdreau 1838 au 4 mai 1848

          Blondeau 4 mai 1848 au 23 octobre 1860

          Salvé 23 octobre au 21 décembre 1860

          Seinwirth 21 décembre 1860 au 25 octobre 1862

          Bretonnet 25 octobre 1862 au 25 novembre 1863

          Lenoir 25 novembre 1863 au 24 décembre 1864

          Thillay 24 décembre 1864 au 23 mai 1870

          Guibert 23 mai 1870 au 20 septembre 1890

          Forestier 20 septembre 1890 au 10 avril 1893

          Mallondot du 10 avril 1893

 

Population scolaire aux diverses époques : 1850, 27 élèves ; 1858 ; 32, 1865, 36 élèves ; 1873, 26 élèves, 1899, 36 élèves.

Jusqu’en 1890 l’Instituteur était chantre, organiste, monteur de l’horloge.

Etat actuel : l’Ecole mixte, à une seule classe, compte une moyenne de 40 élèves partagés en 3 cours : préparatoire, élémentaire et moyen, obtenant le certificat d’études primaires, élémentaire. La salle de classe actuelle, bien éclairée, est pourvue d’un matériel ancien, manque d’eau. Le Cours d’adultes est suivi régulièrement par les jeunes gens (Garçons seulement) de la Commune ; l’enseignement y est donné surtout au point de vue agricole. La bibliothèque scolaire assez bien composée, en voie de prospérité aide à l’œuvre de l’Ecole.

 

Source : archives départementales, monographie communale de Loges-en-Josas, 1899, cote du document : 1T/MONO 7 [22], transcription Mathieu Thédié