ÉLANCOURT COMMUNAL MONOGRAPH

In a happy situation, at the bottom of the valley formed by the ru of its name, Elancourt, between Trappes and Jouars, depends on the canton of Chevreuse and is distant from this town of 12 kilos.  

   According to de Dion, the Roman road from Paris to Dreux, after having crossed Trappes, passed to Elancourt, then to the farm of Ergal, etc. Near Elancourt, this route crossed the old road from Poissy to Orléans via the Perray.

In the obituary of Joyenval, we find Mathieu Lord of Elancourt, knight domini Mathoei Eleencortis, died in 1264, donor, with his wife Isabelle, of two and a half acres of land to this abbey. 

In the 13th century, in place names ending in Cortis, this suffix was wrongly replaced by the suffix curia. We then had Elancuria.  

The cure of Elancourt and the prior of Argenteuil

The cure of Elancourt, before the Revolution was at the presentation of the prior of Argenteuil. His income in 1648 was 343 pounds. The prior of Argenteuil, dependent member of the abbey of Saint-Denis, had the right to justice in Elancourt, Adainville, Bourdonné and other places, and, to exercise justice in these localities, there were provosts, appeals for sentences of which provosts belonging to his bailiff of Argenteuil. (Cf. letters patent issued by Charles IX, February 19, 1563, at the request of François de Rabodanges, prior and his family of Argenteuil.)

The church

The church of Elancourt, from the 12th and 13th centuries, has an interesting choir, of primary ogival style. A massive bell tower rises above the choir. The nave is vaulted in wood. Its windows, which have been made ogival, are fitted with modern glass roofs. The apse, lit by three pointed windows and two oculi, has a ridge vault decorated with vigorous ribs falling on corner columns crowned with Roman capitals. Patron: Saint-Médard. Saint-Médard, born in Salency, near Noyon, around 457, was bishop of several dioceses, including Noyon. He was in great credit with the kings of Neustria Clotaire I and Chilpéric I, say the dictionaries. As far as Clotaire I is concerned, the Saint's credit was not such that this king soiled himself with crime, the first of which was the assassination of his nephews, among whom Saint-Cloud alone escaped. As for Chilperic, he had his wife strangled to please his concubine Frederic: apart from that, he was a theologian, poet and fine spirit. 

Saint-Médard died in 545. His relics were transported to the abbey of Soissons. It is believed that it was he who instituted the crowning of the rosebush at Salency. The church honors him on June 8. 

The cure of Elancourt was formerly at the collation of prior of Argenteuil.  

Feudalism  

Part of the parish of Elancourt formerly came under the old châtellenie of Chevreuse and Maurepas. Another part depending on the châtellenie of Trappes and the abbey of Saint-Denis, which had succeeded the rights of the priory of Argenteuil. Successive donations brought most of the parish into the domain of the House of the Temple.  

1789

The parish of Elancourt claims to be represented at the preliminary assembly of the third estate of the provost and viscount of Paris outside the walls, April 18, 1789, for the election of deputies to the States-General, by Charles Thomas Mailleul , winemaker, and Louis Bonaventure Giffard, winemaker. His book of grievances begins as follows: "We, trustee, collectors, inhabitants, taillables of the parish of Elancourt, all born French, aged twenty-five, being assembled to the sound of the bell at the place and in the usual manner, by in front of Mr. Pierre Yves Lebel fiscal attorney of the bailiwick and gruerie of the county of Pontchartrain substituting (sic) Bishop the bailiff for the said seat ... "The notebook consists of thirty two articles reproducing complaints common to many notebooks of the third estate , and ends: "The parish of Elancourt is one of the most unfortunate of those which adjoin the residence of the monarch (Elancourt is 16 kilometers from Versailles) as much by the lack of property as by the bad nature of the land, and by the great beast that is in the woods around this parish; it is impossible that they can pay any tax this year, not being able to provide them with goods to live; they need prompt help. " Eleven signatures follow, including that of Prudhomme syndic. 

In the order of the clergy, at the assembly of the provost and viscount of Paris outside the Walls, M. Boulon, parish priest of Elancourt, was represented by the parish priest of Trappes.  

Railway

The southern tip of the territory of Elancourt towards La Verrière is crossed by the Paris-Chartres railway. On August 20, 1845, the expropriation jury, meeting in Rambouillet, fixed the compensation to be paid to the owners of Elancourt expropriated for the route of this railway: the compensation amounted to an average of 5,410 francs per hectare. 

The closest stations are: Trappes, 4 kil.300, La Verrière, 4 kil.700.  

Mills

In 1865, Elancourt had two mills.  

Hamlet of the Pond

The hamlet of l'Etang is a former stronghold of which, in 1244, Milon, squire, was lord: in November of the said year, "Milo dominus de Stanno (Stannum, deformation of Stagnum = pond), armiger." gives the Church of Our Lady of the Rock six acres of vines in its censive near the Pond. In the 15th century, the Etang mill belonged to the abbey of Saint-Denis.  

Orphanage

In the hamlet of Etang, the orphanage of L'Assomption was founded in 1849 by Father Méquignon and was recognized as being of public utility by decree of April 7, 1866. Father Méquignon, born in Calais in 1825, was appointed in 1849 to the cure of Elancourt which had no minister since the Revolution. As there was no presbytery, he moved into a cottage, and, despite the modesty of his installation, began  collect orphans whose number is increasing little by little. Sisters of St. Vincent de Paul came to help him. Mme Gabillot, in religion Sister Gabrielle, devoted her fortune and her existence to the work undertaken. She died in 1874; Father Méquignon died in 1890 after being honored with a Montyon Prize. He is buried, along with Sister Gabrielle, in the chapel of the orphanage. 

Children are admitted to the house between the ages of 2 and 7 and stay there until the age of twelve. They were then sent to Notre-Dame de la Roche, some 9 kilometers away, in the town of Lévy-Saint-Nom, property donated to the work by the Lévis-Mirepoix family. The establishment, still served by the St Vincent de Paul sisters, had for a long time no other director than the parish priest of Elancourt. It now operates under the supervision of a board which elects a director. The number, previously 300 children, increased to 400 after the great war. The orphanage can only survive thanks to the help of benefactors and the proceeds of public collections. The chapel, built on the designs of Mr. Lebrun, was inaugurated on August 13, 1867.  

Lilacs

Aux Lillas, rabbit breeding establishment

Launay-Frécambeau

Downstream from the hamlet of the pond was, on rue d'Elancourt, the mill of Launay. On the left remains the hamlet of Launay. In the 12th century, Hugues Simon Alneto (l'Aunay) wife of Pétronille de Cressaio (Cressay). 

Downstream from Launay, before leaving the territory of Elancourt and entering that of Jouars, the Ru d'Elancourt operates or operated the Frécambeau mill.  

The ru d'Elancourt

The ru d'Elancourt is born at the south-eastern end of the territory of Elancourt, leaves the village of Elancourt on its left, and meets at La Mauldre in Chemevières, on the territory of Jouars, after a course of 6 kilometers . Despite its smallness, this stream, before the great minoterre has, in modern times, killed the small mills, operated five small mills, namely: on the territory of Elancourt, the mills of Etang, Launay and Fréquembeau ; on the territory of Jouars, the Moulin Neuf and the Moulin de Potançon.  

The Ville-Dieu

Another hamlet of Elancourt, Ville-Dieu-lez-Maurepas, located between Trappes and La Verrière, was the seat of a seigneury and a preceptory of the Templars, and, after removal of these, of the Hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem. 

In the eleventh century, many people went on pilgrimage to Jerusalem. French lords, in 1104, founded in Jerusalem, to receive these pilgrims, a hospitable house, called Saint-Jean, because it had been consecrated under the invocation of Saint John the Baptist. In 1096, the Crusades began which, cut off by interruptions, lasted until 1291. Several Crusaders, in recognition of the care they received in the house just mentioned, devoted themselves, after healing, to service. of the poor: this was the origin of the Hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem. Soon, to their wish for assistance to the poor and the sick, was added the wish for the protection of pilgrims and the fight against infidels: they created a half religious half military organization, the statutes of which were approved by the Pope in 1113. Among the first founders and benefactors of the order figure Gui II de Chevreuse. On the other hand, in 1118, some French lords founded another military and religious order, the Templars, soldier monks whose mission was also to protect the pilgrims and to defend the holy places; its name came from the fact that the mother house was installed on the site of Solomon's temple in Jerusalem. Many princes and lords, to come to the aid of this order, gave him lands and houses. To administer these goods, and at the same time collect donations for the benefit of the order, commanderies were created throughout the territory. Among the number was the commandery of Villedieu-lès-Maurepas (Villa Dei of Malo Repastu), branch of the commandery of Louviers. In 1177, Dreux de Vilette; with the consent of his lord Ernaud de la Ferté, gives the Templars of Villedieu-lez-Maurepas an income from one muid of wheat on Bardelle. In 1190, Simon de Chevreuse, on the verge of leaving for the crusade, told them to donate goods. By letters of January 1212, Pierre de Richebourg ceded to the same Templars a tithe to Maurepas moving from the stronghold of Chevreuse. In 1250, Jean Daniel Lord of Donisy gave the Knights of the Temple established in Villedieu 89 arpents of land in Boullay-les-Trous and Montabé. In 1256, Milon, lord and lord of Maurepas granted the brothers of the Temple depreciation (Faculty given to the mainmortables to become owners) for all the goods they had in his movement. Under a charter of 1281, the lady of Chevreuse, Sédile, former wife of Monsignor Guillaume Maingot lord of Surgières, renounces the prevention she had long had of dispossessing the Templars of justice and the seigneury they enjoyed in their domain, their houses of Broce and Villedieu, which is called Monrepart, the town called Booloy and the wood called Bos des Leez, all belonging to them as having been given to them by the late Gui, knight, formerly Lord of Chevreuse, Geoffroy once canon of Paris, Guillaume and Amaury, knights, known as of Chevreuse, Symon son of said who, Mathieu de Montmorency and who nephew of said predecessor of said Sédile. The lady Sédile however reserves the hunting and the warren. Pae a charter of November 1284, the same lady recognizes the so-called Templars, high vigilantes of Maurepas, the right to raise sinister pitchforks there, asking them only to place them as far as possible from Chevreuse and the pitchforks of his castle. In 1299, the knights of the Temple of Villedieu owned the manor of Saint Aubin with its 150 arpents of land. 

The Templar order was made up of: 1 ° knights (militia fratres); 2 ° of chaplains (Capellani fratres); 3 ° sergeants and squires (fratres servientes armigeri); 4 ° of servants and craftsmen (servientes formuli et officü), brothers who were entrusted in the commanderies with work in the fields or to whom were incumbent the duties of domesticity. The commanderies were generally established so as to enclose a place of au, source or river. They were real farms and provided the necessary food for a large community. A long siege could have been sustained there without fear of famine. Grains of wheat, wheat, filled the barns to the brim while waiting to be reduced to flour under the millstone. Oats abounded for horses, hay for cattle, grass for sheep (John Charpentier). 

The end of the Crusades (1291) removed the original goal of establishing the Templar order. They no longer fulfilled a role similar to that of the current Red Cross. 

The Templars, in the surrounding countryside their houses gave themselves up to a real police of the main ways of the trade. The surveillance of these routes seems to have been the goal of the sorties which they frequently accomplished in groups of ten, twenty, thirty, spear in hand. They ensured the safety of travelers (John Charpentier). 

The order of the Templars became very rich, not only because of the gifts received, but especially as a result of the functions of banker that the order assumed, functions to which made it specific the immense network of houses depending on this order in almost all the country. 'Europe. This wealth aroused great lusts. The power that this wealth gave him, gave shade. This was the cause that, animated on the other hand by the colonnial reports made to him against the order of the Templars by Chancellor Guillaume de Nogaret, of the family who later took the title of Epernon, Philippe-le-Bel abolished this order. of France, 1310-1311. Following an iniquitous trial, the principal knights of the order perished at the stake. At the powerful urging of Philip the Fair, Pope Clement V, his creature generally suppressed the order. Contrary to the intentions of Philippe-le-Bel, he attributed their property to the Hospitallers of Saint John of Jerusalem, but the king had already confiscated most of them (1312).  

   Templars of France, "many who wandered or hid themselves idle and longed to be deprived of discipline, requested their admission into the order of Hospitallers. The highest placed in the hierarchy of the Temple, took the rank of knight, squire , in the service of the princes, counts and barons of Christendom. The servants took refuge in the corporations of craftsmen and even workers. Trained in various trades, blacksmiths, locksmiths, carpenters, joiners, masons ... found the use of their knowledge in the corporations. Communions (banquets at common expense) of companionship, the close solidarity of its members under a patron saint, its mysterious signs of recognition, its watchwords, its symbols finally recreated for those without doubts the atmosphere of the commanderies, their esprit de corps, their exclusivity ... "(John Charpentier).  

   The house of Villedieu les Maurepas passed to the Hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem.

   The Hospitallers of St. John of Jerusalem were soon driven from Jerusalem by the Turks.  

   They then established their headquarters in Rhodes, but they were still driven out by the Turks at the beginning of the 16th century. In 1530, they established in the island of Malta that Charles V granted them, and since that time the Hospitallers of St John of Jerusalem have become the Knights of Malta.  

   In 1474, twenty one years after the end of the Hundred Years War, the Commanderie de la Villedieu was reunited with the commandery of the Old Hospital or of Saint-Jean de Latran in Paris, by decision of the provincial chapter of the order thus consue: "Considering the poverty, ruin and desolation, together the small income of the commandery of Villedieu-les-Maurepas, considering its proximity to the Hospital of St Jean de Paris, the chapter orders that it will be attached to said hospital Saint Jean."

   In 1495, the seigneury of La Verrière depended on the house of Ville-Dieu.  

   In 1580, we see appearing in the assembly of the three orders of the provost and viscounty of Paris for the drafting of the custom of Parus, "the commander of St Jean de Catran lord of Ureine, of the Hotel-Jaune, de la Tombe-Issoire, de la Brosse and Villedieu-les-Maurepas. "

   In the 18th century, the commander had a quarter of the tithe of the parish of Jouars, half of a prebend in the chapter of the collegiate church of Poissy at the presentation of the said commander, etc.  

    He owned many censives in La Verrière, Launay, Tremblay, Montfort, Grignon, Poissy, Crespières, Feucherolles, Morainvilliers, Thivernal, Mareuil-sous-St Germain, Vaux-le-Temple , and other surrounding places. As these censives were complicated to collect, the Chapter of the Language of France considered it advantageous to cede them, in 1693, to M. de Pontchartrain, Controller General of Finance, against an annual annuity of one hundred pounds which he established on his account. goods for the benefit of order.  

   In 1757, the income attached to the house of Villedieu-lez-Maurepas was 2000 pounds.  

   The estate included a beautiful farm in the courtyard of which was a chapel dedicated to St Jean-Baptiste, where the priest of Elancourt came to say mass every Thursday. About 300 arpents of land and 110 arpents of wood depended on the farm.

   In 1789, the goods of the order were placed at the disposal of the nation, at the same time as the goods of the church. 

The Villedieu farm still exists with the chapel, a 12th century Gothic monument (or beginning of the 13th century), transformed into a barn.  

   The farm has added a beet distillery. This chapel has 28m. long by 8m30 wide. It has five spans and is terminated by a (...) with five sides. The pinion, pierced by a door and an ogival window, is accompanied at the SW angle by an octagon-shaped staircase turret.  

   It is currently operated by the real estate company of Villedieu, a limited company with a capital of 127,500 frs.

  

Water in Elancourt

   The municipality of Elancourt could have a well already built when in 1935 it joined the intercommunal union for the supply of drinking water in the Yvelines region, which union has been responsible for the distribution, since 1938, of water. drinking water in the village, through its concessionaire, the Société l'Entreprise Industrielle.  

 

  Mr. Bouchené-Lefer

Mr. Adèle Gabriel Denis Bouchené-Lefer, born in 1796, State Councilor, jurisconsult, author of treatises on administrative law and political economy, died in Elancourt in January 1872.  

Population  

In a litter  13th century diocesan: 80 parishioners 

Population of Elancourt in 1866 ... 382 hts

                        1891 ... 614

                        1910 ... 634

                        1926 ... 910

                        1931 ... 986

                        1936 ... 838

There is a town of Elencourt in the Oise. In her novel La Maréchale d'Aubemer Madame de Boigne, mentioned in Jouars-Pontchartrain's notice, baptizes two of her characters Baron d'Elancourt and Demoiselle d'Elancourt.  

   Monographic transcription of the municipal monograph of Elancourt written by Paul Aubert in 1949, departmental archives of Yvelines, call number: J 3211/6 [4]

MONOGRAPHIE COMMUNALE D'ÉLANCOURT

Dans une heureuse situation, au fond du vallon formé par le ru de son nom, Elancourt, entre Trappes et Jouars, dépend du canton de Chevreuse et est distant de cette ville de 12 kil. 

   D'après de Dion, la voie romaine de Paris à Dreux, après avoir traversé Trappes, passait à Elancourt, ensuite à la ferme d'Ergal, etc. Près d'Elancourt, cette voie croisait l'ancienne route de Poissy à Orléans par le Perray.

Au nécrologe de Joyenval, on trouve Mathieu seigneur d'Elancourt, chevalier domini Mathoei Eleencortis, mort en 1264, donateur, avec sa femme Isabelle, de deux arpents et demi de terre à cette abbaye. 

Au 13e siècle, dans les noms de lieu à désinence en cortis, à ce suffixe se substitua fautivement le suffixe curia. On eut alors Elancuria. 

La cure d'Elancourt et le prieur d'Argenteuil

La cure d'Elancourt, avant la Révolution était à la présentation du prieur d'Argenteuil. Son revenu en 1648 était de 343 livres. Le prieur d'Argenteuil, membre dépendant de l'abbaye de Saint-Denis, avait droit de justice à Elancourt, Adainville, Bourdonné et autres lieux, et, pour exercer la justice en ces localités, y avait des prévôts, les appels des sentences desquels prévôts ressortissant à son bailli d'Argenteuil. (Cf. lettres patentes rendues par Charles IX, 19 février 1563, à la requête de François de Rabodanges, prieur et siens d'Argenteuil.)

L'église

L'église d'Elancourt, des 12e et 13e siècles, a un chœur, de style ogival primaire, intéressant. Un clocher massif s'élève au dessus du choeur. La nef est voûtée en bois. Ses fenêtres, qui ont été rendues ogivales, sont garnies de verrières modernes. Le chevet, éclairé par trois fenêtres ogivales et deux oculus, a une voûte d'arrête ornée de vigoureuses nervures retombant sur des colonnes d'angles couronnées de chapiteaux romans. Patron : Saint-Médard. Saint-Médard, né à Salency, près de Noyon, vers 457, fut évêque de plusieurs diocèses, dont Noyon. Il fut en grand crédit auprès des rois de Neustrie Clotaire I et Chilpéric I, disent les dictionnaires. En ce qui concerne Clotaire I, le crédit du Saint ne fut pas tel que ce roi se souillât de crime, dont le premier fut l'assassinat de ses neveux parmi lesquels Saint-Cloud seul échappa. Quant à Chilpéric, il fit étrangler son épouse pour plaire à sa concubine Frédégonde: à part cela, c'était un théologien, poète et bel esprit. 

Saint-Médard mourut en 545. Ses reliques furent transportées à l'abbaye de Soissons. On croit que c'est lui qui institua le couronnement de la rosière à Salency. L'église l'honore le 8 juin. 

La cure d'Elancourt était autrefois à la collation de prieur d'Argenteuil. 

Féodalité 

Partie de la paroisse d'Elancourt relevait autrefois de l'ancienne châtellenie de Chevreuse et Maurepas. Une autre partie dépendant de la châtellenie de Trappes et de l'abbaye de Saint-Denis, qui avait succédé aux droits du prieuré d'Argenteuil. Des donations successives firent passer la majeure partie de la paroisse dans le domaine de la maison du Temple. 

1789

La paroisse d'Elancourt se dit représenter à l'assemblée préliminaire du tiers-état de la prévôté et vicomté de Paris hors les murs, le 18 avril 1789, en vue de l'élection des députés aux Etats-Généraux, par Charles Thomas Mailleul, vigneron, et Louis Bonaventure Giffard, vigneron. Son cahier de doléances débute ainsi: "Nous, syndic, collecteurs, habitants, taillables de la paroisse d'Elancourt, tous nés français, âgés de vingt cinq ans, étant assemblés au son de la cloche au lieu et en la manière accoutumés, par devant M. Pierre Yves Lebel procureur fiscal des bailliage et gruerie du comté de Pontchartrain substituant (sic) Mgr le bailli au dit siège..." Le cahier se compose de trente deux articles reproduisant des doléances communes à beaucoup de cahiers du tiers-état, et se termine: "La paroisse d'Elancourt est une des plus malheureuses de celles qui avoisinent la demeure du monarque (Elancourt est à 16 kilomètres de Versailles) tant par le défaut de propriété que par la mauvaise nature du terrain, et par la grande bête qui se trouve dans les bois qui avoisinent cette paroisse; il est impossible qu'ils puissent payer aucun impôt de la présente année, ne pouvant leur procurer des biens pour vivre; ils ont besoin de prompts secours." Suivent onze signatures, dont celle de Prudhomme syndic. 

Dans l'ordre du clergé, à l'assemblée de la prévôté et vicomté de Paris hors les Murs, M. Boulon, curé d'Elancourt, se fit représenter par le curé de Trappes. 

Chemin de fer

La pointe sud du territoire d'Elancourt vers la Verrière, est traversée par le chemin de fer Paris-Chartres. Le 20 août 1845, le jury d'expropriation, réuni à Rambouillet, fixe les indemnités à payer aux propriétaires d'Elancourt expropriés pour le tracé de ce chemin de fer: les indemnités ressortirent en moyenne à 5.410 francs d'hectare. 

Les stations les plus proches sont: Trappes, 4 kil.300, La Verrière, 4 kil.700. 

Moulins

En 1865, Elancourt possède deux moulins. 

Hameau de l'Etang

Le hameau de l'Etang est un ancien fief dont, en 1244, Milon, écuyer, était seigneur: en novembre de ladite année, "Milo dominus de Stanno (Stannum, déformation de Stagnum=étang), armiger." donne à l'église de Notre-Dame de la roche six arpents de vigne en sa censive près de l'Etang. Au 15e siècle, le moulin de l'Etang appartient à l'abbaye de Saint-Denis. 

Orphelinat

Au hameau de l'Etang, l'orphelinat de l'Assomption a été fondé en 1849 par l'abbé Méquignon et a été reconnu d'utilité publique par décret du 7 avril 1866. L'abbé Méquignon, né à Calais en 1825, fut nommé en 1849 à la cure d'Elancourt qui n'avait pas de desservant depuis la Révolution. Comme il n'y avait pas de presbytère, il s'installa dans une chaumière, et, malgré la modestie de son installation, se mit  recueillir des orphelins dont le nombre d'accrut petit à petit. Des sœurs St Vincent de Paul vinrent l'aider. Mme Gabillot, en religion sœur Gabrielle, consacra à l'œuvre entreprise sa fortune et son existence. Elle mourut en 1874; l'abbé Méquignon mourut en 1890 après avoir été honoré d'un prix Montyon. Il est inhumé, ainsi que sœur Gabrielle, dans la chapelle de l'orphelinat. 

Les enfants sont admis dans la maison entre 2 et 7 ans et y restent jusqu'à l'âge de douze ans. Ils sont alors envoyés à Notre-Dame de la Roche, à quelques 9 kilomètres de là, sur la commune de Lévy-Saint-Nom, propriété donnée à l'œuvre par la famille de Lévis-Mirepoix. L'établissement, toujours desservi par les sœurs St Vincent de Paul, n'a eu pendant longtemps d'autre directeur que le curé d'Elancourt. Il fonctionne maintenant sous la surveillance d'un conseil qui élit un directeur ou une directrice. L'effectif, précédemment de 300 enfants, est passé à 400 après la grande guerre. L'orphelinat ne peut vivre que grâce à l'aide de bienfaiteurs et au produit de collectes publiques. La chapelle, construite sur les dessins de M. Lebrun, a été inaugurée le 13 août 1867. 

Les Lilas

Aux Lillas, établissement d'élevage de lapins

Launay-Frécambeau

En aval du hameau de l'étang se trouvait, sur le rue d'Elancourt, le moulin de Launay. Sur la gauche subsiste le hameau de Launay. Au 12e siècle, Hugues Simon Alneto (l'Aunay) épouse de Pétronille de Cressaio (Cressay). 

En aval de Launay, avant de quitter le territoire d'Elancourt et d'entrer sur celui de Jouars, le ru d'Elancourt actionne ou actionnait le moulin de Frécambeau. 

Le ru d'Elancourt

Le ru d'Elancourt naît à l'extrémité sud-est du territoire d'Elancourt, laisse le village d'Elancourt sur sa gauche, et se réunit à la Mauldre à Chemevières, sur le territoire de Jouars, après un cours de 6 kilomètres. Malgré sa petitesse, ce ruisseau, avant que la grande minoterre ait, dans les temps modernes, tué les petits moulins, actionnait cinq petits moulins, savoir: sur le territoire d'Elancourt, les moulins de l'Etang, de Launay et de Fréquembeau; sur le territoire de Jouars, le moulin Neuf et le moulin de Potançon. 

La Ville-Dieu

Un autre hameau d'Elancourt, la Ville-Dieu-lez-Maurepas, situé entre Trappes et la Verrière, a été le siège d'une seigneurie et d'une préceptorerie des Templiers, et, après suppression de ceux-ci, des hospitaliers de St Jean de Jérusalem. 

Au onzième siècle, de nombreuses personnes se rendaient en pèlerinage à Jérusalem. Des seigneurs français, en 1104, fondèrent à Jérusalem, pour recevoir ces pèlerins, une maison hospitalière, dite de Saint-Jean, parce qu'elle avait été consacrée sous l'invocation de St Jean-Baptiste. En 1096, avaient commencé les Croisades qui, coupées d'interruptions, durèrent jusqu'en 1291. Plusieurs croisés, en reconnaissance des soins qu'ils reçurent dans la maison dont il vient d'être question, se consacrèrent, après guérison, au service des pauvres: ce fut l'origine des Hospitaliers de St Jean de Jérusalem. Bientôt, a leur voeu d'assistance aux pauvres et aux malades, s'ajouta le voeu de protection des pèlerins et de lutte contre les infidèles: ils se donnèrent une organisation moitié religieuse moitié militaire, dont les statuts furent approuvés par le pape en 1113. Parmi les premiers fondateurs et bienfaiteurs de l'ordre figure Gui II de Chevreuse. D'autre part, en 1118, quelques seigneurs français fondèrent un autre ordre militaire et religieux, les Templiers, moines soldats qui avaient pour mission de protéger également les pèlerins et de défendre les lieux saints; son nom lui vint de ce que la maison mère fut installée sur l'emplacement du temple de Salomon à Jérusalem. Beaucoup de princes, de seigneurs, pour venir en aide à cet ordre, lui donnèrent des terres, des maisons. Pour administrer ces biens, et en même temps recueillir des dons au profit de l'ordre, furent créées des commanderies sur tout le territoire. Du nombre fut la commanderie de la Villedieu-lès-Maurepas (Villa Dei de Malo Repastu), succursale de la commanderie de Louviers. En 1177, Dreux de Vilette; du consentement de son seigneur Ernaud de la Ferté, donne aux Templiers de la Villedieu-lez-Maurepas une rente d'un muid de blé sur Bardelle. En 1190, Simon de Chevreuse, sur le point de partir pour la croisade, leur dit donation de biens. Par lettres de janvier 1212, Pierre de Richebourg cède aux mêmes Templiers une dîme à Maurepas mouvant du fief de Chevreuse. En 1250, Jean Daniel seigneur de Donisy donne aux chevaliers du Temple établis à le Villedieu 89 arpents de terre à Boullay-les-Trous et Montabé. En 1256, Milon, châtelain et seigneur de Maurepas accorde aux frères du Temple l'amortissement (Faculté donnée aux mainmortables de devenir propriétaires) pour tous les biens qu'ils possèdent dans sa mouvance. Aux termes d'une charte de 1281, la dame de Chevreuse, Sédile, femme jadis de monseigneur Guillaume Maingot seigneur de Surgières, renonce à la prévention qu'elle avait eue longtemps de déposséder les Templiers de la justice et de la seigneurie dont ils jouissaient dans leur domaine, leurs maisons de la Broce et de la Villedieu, laquelle est appelée Monrepart, la ville appelée Booloy et le bois appelé le Bos des Leez, le tout leur appartenant comme leur ayant été donné par feu Gui, chevalier, jadis seigneur de Chevreuse, Geoffroy jadis chanoine de Paris, Guillaume et Amaury, chevaliers, dits de Chevreuse, Symon fils dudit qui, Mathieu de Montmorency et qui neveu dudit prédécesseur de ladite Sédile. La dame Sédile se réserve toutefois la chasse et la garenne. Pae une charte de novembre 1284, la même dame reconnait aux dits Templiers, hauts justiciers de Maurepas, le droit d'y élever des fourches patibulaires, en les priant seulement de les placer le plus loin possible de Chevreuse et des fourches de son château. En 1299, les chevaliers du Temple de la Villedieu possèdent le manoir de Saint Aubin avec ses 150 arpents de terre. 

L'ordre des Templiers était constitué: 1° de chevaliers (fratres milites); 2° de chapelains (fratres capellani); 3° de sergents et d'écuyers (fratres servientes armigeri); 4° de domestiques et d'artisans (servientes formuli et officü), frères que l'on chargeait dans les commanderies des travaux des champs ou auxquels incombaient les devoirs de la domesticité. Les commanderies étaient généralement établies de manière à enclore un lieu d'au, source ou rivière. C'était de véritables exploitations agricoles et qui fournissaient les vivres nécessaires à une grande communauté. On y eut pu soutenir un long siège sans craindre la famine. Grains de blé, de froment, emplissaient à craquer les granges en attendant d'être réduits en farine sous la meule. L'avoine abondait pour les chevaux, le foin pour le bétail, l'herbe pour les moutons (John Charpentier).  

La fin des Croisades (1291) fit disparaître le but primitif de l'établissement de l'ordre des Templiers. Ils ne remplirent plus désormais qu'un rôle analogue à celui actuel de la Croix-Rouge. 

Les Templiers, dans les campagnes environnants leurs maisons se livraient à une véritable police des grandes voies du commerce. La surveillance de ces voies semble avoir été le but des sorties que fréquemment ils accomplissaient par groupes de dix, vingt, trente, la lance au poing. Ils assuraient la sécurité des voyageurs (John Charpentier). 

L'ordre des Templiers devint très riche, non seulement à cause des libéralités reçues, mais surtout par suite des fonctions de banquier que l'ordre assuma, fonctions auxquelles le rendait propre l'immense réseau de maisons dépendant de cet ordre dans presque toute l'Europe. Cette richesse excita de hautes convoitises. La puissance que cette richesse lui procurait, donna de l'ombrage. Cela fut cause que, animé d'autre part par les rapports colonniaux que lui fit contre l'ordre des Templiers le chancelier Guillaume de Nogaret, de la famille qui prit plus tard le titre d'Epernon, Philippe-le-Bel supprima cet ordre de France, 1310-1311. A la suite d'un inique procès, les principaux chevaliers de l'ordre périrent sur le bucher. Sur les puissantes instances de Philippe-le-Bel, le pape Clément V, sa créature supprima généralement l'ordre. Contrairement aux intentions de Philippe-le-Bel, il attribua leurs biens aux Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem, mais le roi en avait déjà confisqué la plus grande partie (1312). 

   Des Templiers de France, "beaucoup qui erraient ou se terraient désoeuvrés et langissaient d'être privés de discipline, sollicitèrent leurs admission dans l'ordre des Hospitaliers. Les plus hauts placés dans la hiérarchie du Temple, prirent range de chevalier, d'écuyer, au service des princes, des comtes et barons de la Chrétienté. Les servants se réfugièrent dans les corporations d'artisans et même d'ouvriers. Exercés à des métiers variés, maréchaux ferrants, serruriers, charpentiers, menuisiers, maçons... trouvèrent l'emploi de leurs connaissances dans les corporations. Les communions (banquets à frais communs) du compagnonnage, la solidarité étroite de ses membres sous un saint patron, ses mystérieux signes de reconnaissance, ses mots de guet, ses symboles enfin recréaient pour ceux sans doute l'atmosphère des commanderies, leur esprit de corps, leur exclusivisme..." (John Charpentier). 

   La maison de la Villedieu les Maurepas passa aux Hospitaliers de St Jean de Jérusalem.

   Les Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem furent bientôt chassés de Jérusalem par les Turcs. 

   Ils établirent alors leur siège à Rhodes, mais, ils en furent encore chassés par les Turcs au début du 16e siècle. En 1530, ils d'établirent dans l'île de Malte que leur concéda Charles Quint, et depuis cette époque les Hospitaliers de St Jean de Jérusalem sont devenus les chevaliers de Malte. 

   En 1474, vingt un ans après la fin de la guerre de Cent Ans, la Commanderie de la Villedieu fut réunie à la commanderie de l'Hôpital-Ancien ou de Saint-Jean de Latran de Paris, par décision du chapitre provincial de l'ordre ainsi consue: "Vu la pauvreté, ruine et désolation, ensemble la petite revenue de la commanderie de Villedieu-les-Maurepas, considérant sa procimité de l'Hôpital de St Jean de Paris, le chapitre ordonne qu'elle sera adjointe audit hôpital Saint-Jean."

    En 1495, la seigneurie de la Verrière dépendait de la maison de la Ville-Dieu. 

    En 1580, on voit figurer à l'assemblée des trois ordres de la prévôté et vicomté de Paris pour la rédaction de la coutume de Parus, "le commandeur de St Jean de Catran seigneur de l'Ureine, de l'Hôtel-Jaune, de la Tombe-Issoire, de la Brosse et de Villedieu-les-Maurepas."

   Le commandeur avait au 18e siècle le quart de la dîme de la paroisse de Jouars, la moitié d'une prébende dans le chapitre de l'église collégiale de Poissy à la présentation dudit commandeur etc. 

      Il possédait de nombreuses censives à la Verrière, à Launay, au Tremblay, à Montfort, à Grignon, à Poissy, à Crespières, à Feucherolles, à Morainvilliers, à Thivernal, à Mareuil-sous-St Germain, à Vaux-le-Temple, et autres lieux circonvoisins. Comme ces censives étaient d'un recouvrement compliqué, le Chapitre de la Langue de France estima avantageux de les céder, en 1693, à M. de Pontchartrain, contrôleur général des finances, contre une rente annuelle de cent livres qu'il constitua sur ses biens au profit de l'ordre. 

   En 1757, les revenus attachés à la maison de la Villedieu-lez-Maurepas étaient de 2000 livres. 

   Le domaine comprenait une belle ferme dans la cour de laquelle était une chapelle dédiée à St Jean-Baptiste, où le curé d'Elancourt venait dire la messe tous les jeudis. De la ferme dépendaient environ 300 arpents de terre et 110 arpents de bois

   En 1789, les biens de l'ordre furent mis à la disposition de la nation, en même temps que les biens de l'église. 

La ferme de la Villedieu existe toujours avec la chapelle, monument gothique du 12e siècle (ou commencement du 13e siècle), transformée en grange. 

   La ferme s'est adjoint une distillerie de betteraves. Cette chapelle a 28m. de long sur 8m30 de large. Elle compte cinq travées et est terminée par une (...) à cinq côtés. Lepignon, percé d'une porte et d'une fenêtre ogivale, est accompagné à l'angle S.O. d'une tourelle d'escalier de forme octogone. 

   Elle est actuellement exploitée par la société immobilière de la Villedieu, société anonyme au capital de 127 500 frs.

   

L'eau à Elancourt

   La commune d'Elancourt pouvait disposer d'un puits déjà construit lorsqu'en 1935 elle adhère au syndicat intercommunal pour l'adduction d'eau potable dans la région des Yvelines, lequel syndicat, assure la distribution , depuis 1938, de l'eau potable dans le village, par l'entremise de son concessionnaire , la Société l'Entreprise Industrielle. 

 

 M. Bouchené-Lefer

M. Adèle Gabriel Denis Bouchené-Lefer, né en 1796, conseiller d'Etat, jurisconsulte, auteur de traités de droit administratif et d'économie politique, est mort à Elancourt en janvier 1872. 

Population 

Dans un pouillé  diocésain du 13e siècle: 80 paroissiens 

Population d'Elancourt en 1866...382 hts

                                              1891...614

                                              1910...634

                                              1926...910

                                              1931...986

                                              1936...838

Il y a une commune d'Elencourt dans l'Oise. Dans son roman La maréchale d'aubemer Madame de Boigne, dont il est question en la notice de Jouars-Pontchartrain, baptise deux de ses personnages baron d'Elancourt et demoiselle d'Elancourt. 

   Transcription monographique de la monographie communale d'Elancourt écrite par Paul Aubert en 1949, archives départementales des Yvelines, cote: J 3211/6 [4]